DAI Webinar with Professor Steven Sabat

You are invited register for the August 2020 DAI “Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar”,  What People Living with Dementia Teach Us About Our Shared Humanity presented by Professor Emeritus Steven Sabat.

  • Wednesday, August 26, 2020 (USA/CA/UK/EU)
  • Thursday, August 27, 2020 (AU/NZ/ASIA)
Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.

Register here…

About the Webinar: How we view and approach people with dementia in the process of providing care is critical to whether or not we see and facilitate many of their intact cognitive and social abilities.  Approaching people diagnosed mainly with their presenting symptoms in mind and viewing one’s job as performing particular physical care-oriented tasks will not facilitate the expression of such persons’ remaining abilities and will often prevent those abilities from surfacing.

“Engaging with” people diagnosed with genuine human interest in learning about the person’s past life and interests, proclivities, desires, creates an “I-Thou” connection that will have the opposite effect: their often substantial cognitive, social, and emotional abilities will be revealed.

Thus “dementia care” requires human interaction with someone who is much more than a “dementia patient”, but is viewed and honoured as a human being who deserves to be treated as a person, not just as a patient.  I shall discuss a host of valued attributes that are shared by people living with dementia and those deemed healthy so as to illustrate the commonalities we all share.

About Professor Sabat: Steven R. Sabat is Professor Emeritus of Psychology at Georgetown University. His research for the past 39 years has focused on the intact cognitive and social abilities and the subjective experience of people with moderate to severe dementia, as well as enhancing communication between people living with dementia and their care partnerrs. He is the author of numerous articles in scientific journals and in books.  As well, he is author of The Experience of Alzheimer’s Disease: Life through a Tangled Veil (2001), Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia: What Everyone Needs to Know (2018) and co-editor of Dementia: Mind, Meaning, and the Person (2006)

Register here…

Wednesday, August 26, 2020 (USA/CA/UK/EU): 

  • 2:00 pm Pacific
  • 3:00 pm Mountain
  • 4:00 pm Central
  • 5:00 pm Eastern
  • 10:00 pm London/Glasgow/Dublin UK
  • 11:00 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, August 27, 2020 ( AU/NZ/ASIA):

  • 5:00 am Perth, AU/Taipei/Singapore
  • 6:30 am Adelaide, AU
  • 7:00 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania/Brisbane, AU
  • 9:00 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for up to 1.5 hours. 

Check your time if not listed above withthis link. 

COST TO ATTEND:

  • DAI Members: FREE
  • Care partners of DAI Memers: FREE
  • Healthcare professionals: FREE (Donation to attend appreciated)
  • Researchers: FREE (Donation to attend appreciated)
  • General public: FREE (Donation to attend appreciated)

YOUR DONATIONS DIRECTLY SUPPORT PEOPLE WITH DEMENTIA.

2 thoughts on “DAI Webinar with Professor Steven Sabat

You are very welcome to respectfully join this global conversation.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.