Tribute to Richard Taylor PhD

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 8.12.22 amDementia Alliance International is hosting an online memorial event as part of their A Meeting of The Minds series, Tribute to Richard Taylor PhD. Please join us in remembering Richard.

DATE: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 (USA, Canada, UK, Europe) and Thursday, August 20, 2015 (Australia, NZ).

Register here…

Guest speakers: 

Mr Glenn Rees, AM, Chair, Alzheimer’s Disease International
Dr Al Power, Geriatrician, author, educator
Others to be announced. 

Richard Taylor PhD was a founding member of Dementia Alliance International, and has been an advocate and global voice for people with dementia for more than ten years. Sadly, Richard passed away at his home on July 25th, due to cancer.

Richard was 58 years old when he was diagnosed with dementia, probably of the Alzheimer’s type. He always began his videos and presentations with: “Hello. My name is Richard, and I have dementia, probably of the Alzheimer’s type.” “Hello” is such a simple word, but it in some ways it epitomized Richard, as his focus was on our continued humanity, especially that of people with dementia, and not on our deficits.

The members of DAI send their deepest sympathy to his family and close friends, and we hope they know how much he was loved and will continue to positively influence the dementia community. 

This Tribute to Richard is your opportunity to remember Richard amongst others who also loved him. 

There will be a number of speakers, including Dr Al Power paying their respects to Richard, followed by the opportunity for you to express in your own words (max 2  minutes), the influence Richard had on your life.

Start Time:

North America, UK and Europe: Wednesday, August 19

  • 3:30 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco) and Arizona (Phoenix); 
  • 3:30 p.m. Mountain Time; 
  • 4:30 p.m. Central Time;
  • 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time; 
  • 10:30 p.m. in the UK; 
  • 11:30 p.m. in Paris and Budapest

Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Japan: Wednesday, August 20

  • 7:00 a.m. Adelaide; 
  • 7:30 a.m. Brisbane;
  • 4:30 a.m. Jakarta;
  • 9:30 a.m. Auckland;
  • 6:30 a.m. Tokyo

The Tribute to Richard will run for two hours. 

You will receive an email confirmation that contains instructions on how to join the event. 

Please note, it appears the confirmation email is saying the event is on August 19th in Australia, which is incorrect.

One thought on “Tribute to Richard Taylor PhD

The only thing missing in this global conversation is YOUR voice... Thank you.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s