News Flash… Café Le Brain comes to Australia

DAI tinyNext week, Dementia Alliance International is hosting its first Café Le Brain, an online Memory Café on Wednesday October 22 from 10:00 AM to 11:30 AM (ACDT). Whilst not all people with dementia experience memory loss, we will not be focussed on dementia, but on sharing, having fun and supporting each other. Please make this “First time” Café Le Brain in Australia an event to write home about!

Every month we meet for Café Le Brain – an online Cafe that uses video conferencing technology to bring people together from far away. Together we enjoy conversation, new ideas, support, and some fun. People living with and without the symptoms of dementia are welcome to attend.

This is the first time we are running one in the Australian time zone, and we plan to do this monthly from now on.

The day and time are a trial, and we may find another day or time is more suitable in the future, but starting was the first thing to do. I’m also hoping we might have some people from New Zealand or other countries whose time zones are similar to ours. Please send feedback if a different time or day would make that more suitable.

Hosts: Kate Swaffer, Secretary of Dementia Alliance International & Mick Carmody, Dementia Alliance International member and Gayle Harris, Dementia Alliance International member.

Theme: First Times! Café Le Brain is a first for Australia; we’ll share our other “first times” with each other.

Café Le Brain is held in association with Dementia Alliance International: advocacy and support of, by, and for people with dementia.

To register for this free online event, please click here.

Start Time: Café Le Brain starts on Wednesday, October 22 at 10 a.m. in Adelaide, Australia; 9:30 a.m. in Brisbane; 7:30 a.m. in Perth; 10:30 a.m. in Sydney; 8:30 a.m. in Tokyo.  The Café runs for approximately 90 minutes. To find out the start time in your city, click here

As it is rather short notice for this event, so I am publishing it today as my second blog, something I rarely do; apologies to those of you who find your inbox overflowing today!

 

 

 

The only thing missing in this global conversation is YOUR voice... Thank you.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s