Dementia Enablement Guide: A New Post Diagnostic Pathway

Denise CraigMy ability to blog every day has been thwarted lately for many reasons, none of which I have the capacity to write about at the moment! However, I want to invite you to attend the next Dementia Alliance International (DAI) “A Meeting of The Minds” Webinar on 23/24 March 2016.

Our guest speaker is a supporter of DAI, and owner and facilitator of the Younger Onset Dementia Facebook Support Group, Dr Denise Craig, and we are delighted she has agreed to present on this new pathway of care and support.

Denise’s presentation is titled: Dementia Enablement Guide: A New Post Diagnostic Pathway

It has always seemed obvious to Denise “that we’re all in ‘the business of dementia’ together. We either have a diagnosis of dementia, care about someone who does; will one day be diagnosed or support someone who is; provide professional support for people with dementia, or any combination of the above.

Speaking to consumers and monitoring social media, it is clear that many people with dementia feel misunderstood and unsupported by some sectors of the health care system. Many report being denied GP referral to health professionals because the potential benefits are not well understood. GPs and other health professionals are sometimes unaware of the empowering lift that can result from specialised assistance to maintain function and quality of life.

When a man diagnosed with a frontotemporal dementia lost his job and experienced low mood, his GP told me ‘No one can help him, he has dementia’. If you have dementia you may choose not to accept external support, but I’d like to see you given the choice.

To address this, Queensland Health has supported a multidisciplinary clinician and consumer group to construct a post-diagnostic pathway tool which we’ve called a Dementia Enablement Guide. The guide seeks to encourage GPs to consider a multidisciplinary approach to post-diagnostic support. The tool is now being trialled at sites across Australia. This presentation will discuss the creation of the guide and highlight the concept of ‘pathways’ to onward referral to supportive health professionals.”

Denise is the senior psychologist of the Cairns Memory Service, a member of the Queensland Clinical Senate, and the first non-physician co-Chair of the Queensland Statewide Dementia Clinical Network. Through these roles she encourages systemic improvements to dementia care. She has a postgraduate Diploma in Older Persons Mental Health and is a qualified Assessor and Trainer. Denise chaired the construction of a Younger Onset Dementia Diagnostic Pathways tool as well as the Dementia Enablement Guide. She is the proud recipient of a 2015 Dementia Training Study Centre Fellowship which, together with Qld Health, is supporting her efforts to promote enablement philosophy amongst health professionals. Having cared for her mother who experienced Dementia, she now provides counselling, advice and advocacy with a focus on enablement and living post-diagnostic life to the fullest. She created and administers a support group for people with Young Onset Dementia on Facebook and she says her goal is to help empower and motivate individuals to maximise their quality of life.

REGISTER here…

DATE: Wednesday, March 23, 2016 (USA/UK/CA), and Thursday, March 24, 2016 (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

  • The registration  link only allows you to select March 23, regardless of what time zone you are in.

TIME:  3:00 PM (GMT- 6:00) Central Time (US and Canada), 7:00 AM (AEST)

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 1.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 2.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
  • 3.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 4.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);
  • 1.00 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
  • 10.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;
  • 8.00 p.m. in the UK;
  • 9.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia):

  • 6.00 a.m. in Brisbane;
  • 7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 4.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 4.00 a.m. in Indonesia;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours.

To find out the start time in your city if not listed above, http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+A+Meeting+of+the+Minds+with+Dr+Denise+Craig&iso=20160323T15&p1=64&ah=1&am=30

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar.

Note: Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

We do charge a minimal fee of $US35 for anyone who is employed. Most will be able to claim the cost of the tickets as a tax deduction. The nominal fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work, which importantly, directly supports people with dementia to support themselves. If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at info@infodai.org

The Webinar is FREE for people with dementia.

Care partners are usually no longer in paid employment, and therefore if unemployed, tickets also remain free.

Your donations are always appreciated and do make a difference:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 50.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 100.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Option: Our nonprofit partner, PayPal charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.

2 thoughts on “Dementia Enablement Guide: A New Post Diagnostic Pathway

  1. Hi Kate,
    Thank you for your blogs, I enjoy reading them. It was many mouths ago I read in your blog about treatments without drugs. I tried to find it again but did not manage. Can you please help me find it? Best wishes Eila from Finland

The only thing missing in this global conversation is YOUR voice... Thank you.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s