The Problem of Dementia

Yes, it is still Brain Health Awareness Month, and although this blog is not specific to brain health, the webinar I am highlighting in it is not only a new way to see dementia… but shares what the author believes why it is a crisis, and what we can do about it.

You are therefore invited to a free webinar being hosted by Dementia Alliance International, a guest speaker who will present to us following the Annual General Meeting next week, with Dr Jason Karlawish, an eminent Physician and writer about his book, The Problem of Alzheimer’s: Why It’s a Crisis & What We Can Do About It.

About the presentation: Once upon a time, Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias were rare diseases and then it became common and, quickly, turned into a crisis. Why? What happened? And how does knowing what happened help us decide what we should do about it? This “Meeting of the Minds” takes on these questions. 

About Dr. Jason Karlawish: Jason is a physician and writer. He researches and writes about issues at the intersections of bioethics, aging, and the neurosciences. He is the author of The Problem of Alzheimer’s: How Science, Culture, and Politics Turned a Rare Disease into a Crisis and What We Can Do About It and the novel Open Wound: The Tragic Obsession of Dr. William Beaumont and has written essays for The New York Times, The Washington Post, Forbes, The Hill, and the Philadelphia Inquirer. He is a Professor of Medicine, Medical Ethics and Health Policy, and Neurology at the University of Pennsylvania and Co-Director of the Penn Memory Center, where he cares for patients. He lives in Philadelphia.

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 (USA/CA/UK/EU): 

  • 2:30 pm PST
  • 3:30 pm MST
  • 4:30 pm CST
  • 5:30 pm EST
  • 10:30 pm UK
  • 11:30 pm EU

Wednesday, June 16, 2021 (AU/NZ/ASIA):

  • 5:30 am Perth, AU/ASIA
  • 7:00 am Adelaide, AU
  • 7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania/Brisbane, AU
  • 9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for up to 1.5 hours. 

Check your time if not listed above with this link

COST TO ATTEND:

  • DAI Members: FREE
  • Non DAI Members: FREE
  • DONATIONS ARE APPRECIATED: $30.00 

Support people with dementia: 

Register here…

THANK YOU

You are very welcome to respectfully join this global conversation.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.